Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today is the 3rd day of the Flat and Handwashing Challenge being hosted by Dirty Diaper Laundry and today we have been asked to blog about whatever it is we want so I figured I would take this opportunity to set the record straight. I have been surprised by the overwhelming negative responses by this challenge. It seems that many think that we have an underling agenda we are trying to push. Some have claimed we are pushing environmental issues, products, personal agendas, that it’s all fun and games to us, and they have made claims that we have no clue how hard some people have it, After all how is one supposed to get these supplies anyways they cost money we/they don’t have they say. Well we are TRYING to show you and share with you what, where, how. We simply want to show that for those who can’t afford the “LUXURY” of disposable diapers thee are other alternatives that can and should be considered.

I am a mom to 6 wonderful kids and have never had a problem providing for them, well that is UNTIL my husband passed away 6 1/2 years ago. At the time my youngest was 2 1/2 months old and we were hit hard financially. I remember having panic attacks in the store while shopping for disposables for the baby to the point that I avoided it at all cost. I found myself suddenly struggling to provide the basic needs for my family. How could this happen to us? We had always worked hard and we were living the good life. At that time I would have to say I didn’t view CLOTH as an option, why you ask? As silly as this may sound I didn’t even know they STILL MADE cloth diapers. I thought it was just something they did BEFORE disposables came along and now that we had those the cloth were no longer available.

Fast Forward 6 years and I am now a mommy to a 9 month old. When I found out I was pregnant the first thing I did was start looking for an alternative to disposable diapers (imagine my surprise when I discovered THEY DO STILL MAKE CLOTH DIAPERS!) Not only for health or environmental reasons; although they are very real issues but because I NEVER wanted to find myself in the same situation as before. We have adjusted to living with the severe reduction in income and have had to make drastic life changes. But the very thought that at any given moment we could find ourselves back THER again scared the hell out of me.

I spent the next 7 months researching cloth diapers and slowly obtaining my supplies. I asked for floursack towels as gifts because they are available locally and I bought some refolds and covers when I found sales as I was like many and couldn’t afford to buy everything at once. During the course of my search for AFFORDABLE cloth diapers I stumbled upon The Dirty Diaper Laundry Blog they were doing their 2nd annul Flats challenge so I followed along and learned so much from those taking the challenge. When I told people I planned to cloth diaper I got responses ranging from good for you to eww that’s gross and everything in between even the “they still make those?”. Yup they do and they work better then any disposable I have ever tried and having used disposable on my oldest 5 I have tried lots of different brands of disposables.

So for those who think I/we have an agenda for taking this challenge we do but it’s not the on you think. My agenda is to show others who like me didn’t really know about cloth diapers that they do exist and can be done on ANY budget. For those claiming it’s just fun and games for us well they apparently have never hand washed dirty diapers. Though strangely enough there is something relaxing about doing so. For me I think it gives me time to reflect and to be thankful for all that I do have and the sense of accomplishment when I take a CLEAN diaper and put it on my baby’s bottom knowing that I was able to provide that for him. We are fortunate to have daily access to a washer and drier however we are always looking for ways stay within our budget and we never know when those luxuries will be unavailable to us whether it’s a result of mother nature, finances, or any other unforeseen reasons. I find comfort in knowing that as long as I have water and cloth (of any kind really) that my baby will have a dry healthy bottom free from irritation as a result of sitting in his waist.

 

