Tags

, , , ,

Today is day 5 of the Flats and Handwashing Challenge being hosted by Dirty Diaper Laundry and I want to cover what has worked for me and what hasn’t. this post will be rather short as I haven’t ran into many issues. I would suggest trying the smallest amount of detergent possible, you can always add more if need but once it’s in there it’s hard to rinse out.

As I stated in the previous post I try to wash everyday I skipped yesterday because or dog has been sick and I have been spending time trying to nurse her back to health. Well today we took her to the vet and had other running around to do so I didn’t get the chance to wash the diapers until tonight, I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS! I ended up with 3 “loads” of diapers which seemed to take forever and I swear I thought my arms were gonna fall off. I have found that I like HOT rinses better then cold as for me it gets more of the soap out easier which means less rinses and they are SUPER CLEAN so win win.

All and all I am enjoying this challenge it’s not easy but no way near as hard as I thought it would be either. I love learning new things and this has been a learn as you go type thing but I am pretty pleased with the results and find myself smiling when I reach for a clean diaper because I know I DID THAT lol. I know some have given up for various reasons but many of us are hanging in there. I will agree it is NOT the easiest thing in the world to do it but it is not the hardest thing either. It can be done even when life throws you curve balls but it is harder when your schedule is interrupted and you have to play catch up.

For night time or when away from the house I have come to love a flannel receiving blanket doubled with a floursack towel pad folded into a flip cover no leaks yet with that combo. I had tried just doubling floursack towels which worked okay but we still had leaking. During the day I really like floursack towels or t-shirt diapers I never would have guessed the t shirts worked so well.

Tonight I’m gonna leave you with a picture of my little man in a t shirt diaper

021 022

He seems to like them too 🙂

