Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today is open topic day for us bloggers doing the Flats and Handwashing Challenege being hosted by Dirty Diaper Laundry which means we the bloggers get to pick the topic for discussion. So I am curious how this challenge has changed others and thought I would share what it has done for me as well. I’m a researcher by nature if I hear or see something that interest me I research so when I heard about the Flats and Handwashing Challenge for the 1st time last year ( I was pregnant at the time)I did some research to find the reason behind it and was shocked by what I found, The very thought that some families are forced to reuse their disposable diapers saddened and horrified me all at the same time. I seen many arguments for and against such practice but was not able to weigh in on it as at the time I had zero experience with cloth diapering so I vowed I would participate in the challenge this year so I could gain first hand experience that I could later share with others.

Well by day 4 I knew that this could be a very viable option for those who are struggling to diaper their babies. I had heard the arguments low income families not having access to washers/driers, not being able to afford the cost of cloth and so on. It is my experience that those are just excuses. As we have displayed through the last 6 days it can be done and one a very tight budget as well one just has to be willing to put forth the effort.

In light of the information and knowledge I have gained from personal experience as well as following the others who have blogged their way through this challenge. I started reaching out in the community trying to get the word out to those who would be most impacted by this new found knowledge. While I am still in the very early stages of this I have contacted a local business that offers classes/services to families that are struggling to see if we  (myself and another local woman) can share the option of cloth diapers where we will be offering classes on the use and different types of cloth diaper out their.

We are also in the process of trying to get a collection of diaper together to provide a cloth diaper bank much like Giving Diapers Giving Hope. We hope to make a difference here locally and to be able to someday go larger scale but one has to start somewhere. We are currently in the process of finding out what we have to do in order to get this up and running. During the course of the last couple of days because it has only been a couple of days sense we started this motion we have found a local woman that has generously offered to teach local moms how to sew their own cloth diaper and she is doing this free of charge! Hopefully by next year we will be able to share how we have helped some local families who would otherwise struggle to diaper their babies but reaching out and helping them not only with obtaining the diapers but in how to use/care for them as well.

So my question to you is how have you benefited from this challenge and for those who haven’t taken the challenge but still use cloth how has it changed you and your way of thinking.

 

