Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yesterday was the last day of the Flats and Handwashing Challenege that was hosted by Dirty Diaper Laundry, All gave some and some gave all. While we ALL started out with the best of intentions some had to withdraw from the challenge all for varying reasons ranging from illnesses, family emergencies, to some having a difficult time with the hand washing aspect of the challenge and everything in between. I am happy to say that we competed the challenge even with our family dogs sudden and sever illness and will probably continue for some days to come as I really like how clean the diaper get with hand washing and I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE how quickly the flats dry.

I have learned that almost any kind of cloth can be made into a cloth diaper one of my favorites is the t shirt diaper and the flannel receiving blanket. During the challenge I found a new night time solution that works great for my little one which is the flannel receiving blanket doubled with a flat pad folded into a flip cover. He woke every morning dry with this combination which is something we didn’t have with our prefolds even when doubled and might I add with far less baulk.

I also learned the hard way I might add that less is more when it comes to hand washing and detergent. I had read from those who took the challenge that not much was needed so I went in knowing to reduce the amount but finding the right amount for your water conditions, load size and what not really is a learning curve but I can honestly say my diapers have never been cleaner.

The most important lessen is that this is doable while admittedly it’s not the easiest way to cloth diaper your baby it can be done. Every baby deserves to have clean diapers and every family deserves to know that there are other options out there other then the reuse of disposable diapers. As I stated in my previous post this challenge has prompted myself and another mother whose children are potty trained now to explore the possibilities of setting up a local cloth diaper bank as well as classes to teach the families about the different types of cloth, where to buy them, and how to care for them. I can’t wait to read how the other bloggers made out during the challenge as their experience will be different then mine and I’m sure they will have some great solutions/ ideals that I could use.

